Arizona Marijuana Laws
While medical marijuana is legal in Arizona, the recreational use, possession, or cultivation of marijuana can subject you to some of harshest laws in the country. A ballot measure that would have legalized recreational marijuana for adults 21 and older was presented to voters in November 2016, but the initiative failed to pass with 52 percent in opposition.
Recreational Marijuana in Arizona
Arizona has some of the strictest recreational marijuana laws in the United States. The possession, sale, cultivation, and trafficking of marijuana are susceptible to a felony conviction. The possession of less than 2 pounds for personal use is a Class 6 felony, punishable by a minimum sentence of 4 months to 2 years and a minimum fine of $1,000. Possession for personal use of 2 to 4 pounds of marijuana is a Class 5 felony and is punishable by a sentence of 6 months to 2.5 years, and a minimum fine of $1000.
Medical Marijuana in Arizona
Medical marijuana was legalized in Arizona after voters approved Arizona Medical Marijuana Act in November 2010. Under the law, patients with a “written certification” from a physician are allowed to use and possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana in a 14-day period. Qualified patients should keep their medical marijuana cards on hand at all times.
Qualifying conditions for medical marijuana under Measure 2 are as follows:
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Crohn’s Disease
- Hepatitis C
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Seizures (including Epilepsy)
- Severe and Chronic Pain
- Severe or Persistent Muscle Spasms (including Multiple Sclerosis)
- Severe Nausea
Consumption of CBD from Hemp Oil in Arizona
Like all hemp-based products, CBD hemp oil is legal to import and sell as a dietary supplement in all 50 U.S. states, including Arizona.
Cultivation of Cannabis in Arizona
Cultivation of cannabis for recreational use or research purposes is strictly prohibited in Arizona. Registered medical marijuana patients or designated caregivers that don’t live within 25 miles from a dispensary are allowed to cultivate up to 12 marijuana plants in an enclosed, locked facility.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only; it does not constitute legal advice. Although we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information, products, services, or related graphics contained on the website for any purpose. Therefore, any reliance you place on such information is strictly at your own risk.
This article may contain certain forward-looking statements and information, as defined within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, and is subject to the Safe Harbor created by those sections. This material contains statements about expected future events and/or financial results that are forward-looking in nature and subject to risks and uncertainties. Such forward-looking statements by definition involve risks, uncertainties.