Connecticut Marijuana Laws
Recreational marijuana remains illegal in Connecticut as of now, but the state has passed comprehensive medical marijuana legislation and has even opened up its program to minors.
Recreational Marijuana in Connecticut
The use, possession, and distribution of marijuana for recreational purposes are illegal and charged as a civil penalty in Connecticut. First time offenders caught in possession of ½ ounce of marijuana is susceptible to a $150 fine. Repeat offenders or offenders caught with larger quantities can receive imprisonment of 1 year to 10 years and fines ranging from $1000 to $5,000.
Medical Marijuana in Connecticut
Gov. Dannel Malloy signed into law House Bill 5389 in 2012 to legalize medical marijuana in Connecticut. Under the law, qualified patients can possess the amount that is ‘reasonably necessary’ for a one month’s supply. Patients must always have their valid registration certificates on hand to avoid arrest, prosecution, and penalties.
Connecticut’s medical marijuana program does have limitations as to who can be a qualified patient:
- Must be a resident of Connecticut
- Must not be an inmate
- Must not be under the supervision of the Department of Corrections
If these conditions are not fulfilled, then individuals cannot possess, use, or cultivate medical marijuana regardless of their medical condition.
Medical marijuana can be sought for the following medical conditions:
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
Complex Regional Pain Syndrome
HIV or AIDS
Irreversible Spinal Cord Injury with Objective Neurological Indication of Intractable Spasticity
Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
Post Laminectomy Syndrome
Post-Surgical Back Pain with a condition called Chronic Radiculopathy
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
Severe Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis
Sickle Cell Disease
Terminal Illness Requiring End-Of-Life Care
Uncontrolled Intractable Seizure Disorder
Other medical approved by the Department of Consumer Protection
On May 17, 2016, Gov. Malloy signed House Bill 5450, allowing patients under 18 to get legal access to medical marijuana. The law went into effect on October 1, 2016.
Under the law, minors with a written certification from two doctors and a written statement of consent by a parent or guardian can get legal access to medicinal cannabis for:
Epilepsy (Severe or Intractable)
Spinal Cord Injury (Irreversible)
Consumption of CBD from Hemp Oil in Connecticut
Like all hemp-based products, CBD hemp oil is legal to import and sell as a dietary supplement in all 50 U.S. states, including Connecticut.
Cultivation of Cannabis in Connecticut
The cultivation of marijuana for medical or personal use is now allowed under Connecticut law. However, House Bill 5780, signed by Gov. Malloy in July 2015, amended statues to allow institutions of higher education or the state department of agriculture legalize to grow industrial hemp in Connecticut for research purposes.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only; it does not constitute legal advice. Although we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information, products, services, or related graphics contained on the website for any purpose. Therefore, any reliance you place on such information is strictly at your own risk.
This article may contain certain forward-looking statements and information, as defined within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, and is subject to the Safe Harbor created by those sections. This material contains statements about expected future events and/or financial results that are forward-looking in nature and subject to risks and uncertainties. Such forward-looking statements by definition involve risks, uncertainties.