New Mexico Marijuana Laws
While New Mexico has yet to legalize recreational marijuana, it has decriminalized simple possession and passed a comprehensive medical marijuana program.
Recreational Marijuana in New Mexico
New Mexico’s personal use marijuana laws are less severe than those of most states. In March 2015, the New Mexico Senate passed Senate Bill 383 to decriminalize simple possession. The law makes possession of 1 ounce or less of marijuana punishable by a $50-100 fine and up to 15 days in jail. Possession of more than one ounce is punishable by a $1000 fine and up to one-year imprisonment.
Medical Marijuana in New Mexico
Voters of New Mexico approved the Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act in 2007 to legalize medical marijuana. The Medical Cannabis Program allows qualified to possess up to 8 ounces of medical cannabis over a 90-day period, although more if authorized by the physician.
The law also allows patients to apply for a Personal Production License, which would allow them to home cultivate a total of 16 plants, including four mature and 12 immature.
Medical Marijuana is approved for the following conditions in New Mexico:
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
Intractable Nausea and Vomiting
Painful Peripheral Neuropathy
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
Spinal Cord Damage
Consumption of CBD from Hemp Oil in New Mexico
Consumption of CBD derived from hemp oil is federally legal, as CBD from hemp oil falls under the same importation and commerce laws as other hemp products. New Mexico has not enacted legislation specifically relating to CBD from hemp oil, so it is legal to purchase and consume.
Cultivation of Cannabis in New Mexico
There won’t be any research into the growth of hemp for industrial purposes in New Mexico anytime soon. Governor Martinez vetoed the bill in 2015, citing the inconsistencies between the bill and federal language that mentions hemp.
Approved medical marijuana patients may apply for a Personal Production License, which allows them to grow up to 16 cannabis plants (4 mature, 12 immature) in their homes or properties.
Cultivating marijuana or hemp for personal use remains illegal in New Mexico and is charged as a felony punishable by 9 years incarceration and up to a $10,000 fine.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only; it does not constitute legal advice. Although we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information, products, services, or related graphics contained on the website for any purpose. Therefore, any reliance you place on such information is strictly at your own risk.
This article may contain certain forward-looking statements and information, as defined within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, and is subject to the Safe Harbor created by those sections. This material contains statements about expected future events and/or financial results that are forward-looking in nature and subject to risks and uncertainties. Such forward-looking statements by definition involve risks, uncertainties.